National Steering Committee

The United Nations International Year of Co-operatives National Steering Committee – Australia, formed in May 2010 to coordinate a national response to the opportunity afforded by an International Year focused on the co-operative business model.

Following the UN guidelines for national committees, it was a multi stakeholder voluntary board of management. The time and resources of the Committee have been contributed in-kind by the members’ organisations. We thank these visionary partners.

United Nations International Year of Co-operatives National Steering Committee - Australia

  • Chair: Greg Wall, CEO Capricorn Society Ltd
  • Tony O'Shea, Chair, Co-operatives Australia
  • Suzanne Henderson, Director, SBA
  • Melina Morrison, Director, SBA
  • Daniel Newlan, Senior Adviser, Policy & Public Affairs, Abacus
  • Roger Nicoll, Director, West Belconnen Health Co-operative
  • Richard O'Leary, CEO, Macleay Regional Co-opeartive Ltd
  • Neville Parsons, CEO, Holiday Coast Credit Union
  • Belinda Drew, CEO, Foresters Community Finance
  • Peter Tregilgas, EO, Regional Development Australia, Mid North Coast
  • Frances Fernandez, Managing Director, Breez Finance
  • Elena Kirillova, Chair Australian Employee Buyout Centre

IYC Steering Committee Reference Group

The members of the Reference Group supported the activities of the Steering Committee within their fields of expertise. We thank these members for their support and interest.

  • Dr Jo Barraket, Queensland University of Technology
  • Bob Corben, CEO, Corben CS
  • Garry Cronan, Co-operative Communications Consultant
  • Geoff Fary, Chairman, Asbestos Management Review
  • Les Hems, Director of Research, Centre for Social Impact
  • Dave Kerin, National Coordinator, 100,000 Australians Campaign
  • Andrew Leontarou, CEO, Tertiary Access Group
  • Dr Elena Limnios, University of Western Australia
  • Steve Lynch, National Community Banking Manager, mecu
  • Dr Susan McClean, University of Technology Sydney
  • Ramsey Margolis, Executive Director, New Zealand Cooperatives Association
  • Martin May, Director, Hepburn Wind
  • Professor Tim Mazzarol, University of Western Australia
  • Melinda Oogjes, Secretary, Cohousing Co-operative South Hobart
  • Dr Greg Patmore, University of Sydney
  • Tony Rogic, Chair Co-operative Federation of NSW
  • Trevor Schmidt, Director, The Community Co-operative Store (Nuriootpa)
  • Mark Swivel, Director, Sydney Credit Union
  • Sawcheng Toh, Head of Brand and Strategy, Australian Unity Ltd




Bob Debus AM, Patron
Bob Debus AM, Patron IYC 2012
"People are looking for institutions they can trust. However [co-ops] strength is not only financial, it is ethical. Co-operatives are social businesses."

Facebook    Twitter

The IYC 2012 Secretariat is proudly supported by Social Business Australia and Capricorn Society Ltd

SBA logo                     Capricorn logo                          Capricorn logo

IYC 2012 logo